Ministry of External Affairs (CPV Division)

PRESS NOTE

Extension of e-Tourist Visa scheme to 36 more countries and 7 more airports from 15th August 2015

The Government of India launched the e-Tourist Visa Scheme on 27th November 2014. The scheme, available at 9 airports (New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Goa, Thiruvananthapuram and Kochi), has since been extended to 77 countries/territories.

With effect from 15th August 2015, the scheme is being extended to the following 36 more countries/territories, taking the total to 113 (One Hundred and Thirteen):

1. Andorra	2. Argentina	3. Armenia
4. Aruba	5. Belgium	6. Bolivia
7. Colombia	8. Cuba	9. East Timor
10. Guatemala	11. Hungary	12. Ireland
13. Jamaica	14. Malta	15. Malaysia
16. Mongolia	17. Monaco	18. Mozambique
19. Netherlands	20. Panama	21. Peru
22. Poland	23. Portugal	24. Seychelles
25. Slovenia	26. Spain	27. St Lucia
28. St Vincent & the Grenadines	29. Suriname	30. Sweden
31. Taiwan	32. Tanzania	33. Turks & Caicos Islands
34. United Kingdom	35. Uruguay	36. Venezuela

Further, with effect from 15th August 2015, visitors holding e-Tourist Visas will also be able to arrive at 7 more Indian airports, as listed below, taking the total number of airports designated for this purpose to 16 (Sixteen):

- 1. Ahmedabad
- 2. Amritsar
- 3. Gaya
- 4. Jaipur
- 5. Lucknow
- 6. Tiruchirappalli
- 7. Varanasi

Since the launch of the e-Tourist Visa Scheme on 27th November 2014, more than 200,000 such visas have been issued. It is expected that the addition of more countries/territories and designated airports to the Scheme will give a further boost to tourist arrivals into India.

Further details in this regard are available at the e-Tourist Visa website: <u>https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.html</u>